Brodsky Quartet: Opening Concert for 2017-18

TANAKA At the Grave of Beethoven
SHOSTAKOVICH Quartet No. 4 in D, Op.83
J.S. BACH The Art of Fugue Nos. 1 & 6
MENDELSSOHN Fugue from Four Pieces, Op.81
BEETHOVEN Grosse Fuge, Op.133

We're thrilled that our dear friends the Brodsky Quartet will open the Lancaster concerts season for us. Their commission by the celebrated Japanese composer Karen Tanaka takes inspiration from Beethoven's youthful Opus 18 and challenges us in our anxious and tense contemporary lives to seek serenity and peace. The second half is a celebration of the Fugue. The creative use of counterpoint in the hands of the greatest masters - Bach, Mendelssohn & Beethoven - is not simply technical wizardry but music of incredible intensity and emotional energy which will lift you off your seat!

6.45pm Foyer Music

Event Details

Approx 120 mins

Brodsky Quartet

Ticket Information

Lancaster University Great Hall
7.30pm, Thursday 19 October 2017

Youth Pass 
Parents and their children (Under 16s) can get 50% off concert prices. Call 01524 594151 for details and to book this offer.

The Brodsky Quartet perform on 19 October at The Great Hall, Lancaster University