RNCM String Orchestra (2015)

Henk Giuttart - Conductor
Strauss Capriccio  Sextet from Capriccio Op 85
Brahms Sextet No 1 in B flat major Op 18
Schoenberg Verklaerte Nacht Op 4
This evening of Viennese treasures features three composers who dominated the city's musical scene for nearly 100 years. The curtain-raiser is the entrancing and idyllic overture from Strauss's last opera, followed by one of Brahms' greatest romantic works. A huge string section does justice to the emotionally charged "Transfigured Night", ending this spine-tingling showcase of Vienna's favourite musical sons.

6.45pm Pre-Concert Talk

Event Details

Approx 120 mins
Royal Northern College of Music String Orchestra perform at Lancaster University (part of Live at LICA's International Concert Series) on 12th March 2015.