Royal Northern College of Music Symphony Orchestra

Berliozís Symphonie fantastique always sounds spectacularly new ñ a fantastic musical autobiography, full of the composerís demons and angels, and his opium-fuelled dream of a torrid love affair ending in the heroís march to the scaffold. The Finnish Rautavaara creates tidal waves of lefthand arpeggios, spins a decorative melodic line, and snaps crisply into a jazzy finale in his First Piano Concerto. Messiaenís first major orchestral score, his simple, hymnlike Les Offrandes oubliÈes (ëThe Forgotten Offeringsí), is a short symphonic poem in three parts representing the Cross, the sin of humanity and the offer of salvation. AndrÈ de Ridder conducts the large forces of the RNCM Symphony Orchestra as they let rip in a tour de force of a programme.

Tickets: £18, £15, £12
(£14.50, £12.50, £10 concessions)
£5.50 Young person

Event Details