Navarra & Sacconi String Quartets

Xander Van Vliet - violin 
Marije Ploemacher - violin 
Simone van der Giessen - viola 
Nathaniel Boyd - cello 
Ben Hancox - violin 
Hannah Dawson - violin 
Robin Ashwell - viola 
Cara Berridge - cello

R. Strauss - Capriccio Sextet 
Brahms - String Sextet in B flat, Op.18 
Mendelssohn - Octet in E flat, Op.20

Two engaging and award-winning quartets join forces in a most appealing programme. The Sextet from Richard Straussís last opera, Capriccio, functions as a prelude; its gentle serenity presaging the operaís character with a luxurious warmth and soaring radiance. With its transparent textures, Brahmsís First String Sextet is graceful and classically poised. Mendelssohn composed his stunning Octet when he was just 16. In terms of passion, colour, lyricism and 'elfin' qualities, it anticipates the overture to A Midsummer Night's Dream he went on to write the following year. The electric musicality of these young players and their reputation for not merely performing but for possessing the music they play promises a concert to thrill and delight.

Meet the artist: 6.45pm
Tickets: £15.50, £13 (£13, £10.50 concessions) £7 Young person

Event Details

Navarra & Sacconi String Quartets