Pilkington’s Tile & Pottery Company

Pilkington’s Tile & Pottery Company at the Peter Scott Gallery

Pilkington’s Tile & Pottery Company were an important design business, based at Clifton Junction near Manchester. The pottery was renamed Royal Lancastrian after they given permission to use the Royal warrant in 1913. Lancaster University looks after one of the most significant collections of Pilkington’s material in the UK.

The collection can be visited by appointment at the John Chambers Ceramics Room, on the upper level of the Peter Scott Gallery. It includes ceramic works spanning the period from 1898 through to the 1930s, including objects finished with Pilkington’s lustre glaze that helped make the company an international success in the early 20th century.

The collection came to Lancaster University between 1994 and 2002 through the generosity of Miss Mary Chambers (1910-2002), on behalf of herself and her brother Arthur Chambers. Miss Chambers was the daughter of John Chambers (1869-1945), who was the Chief Designer at Pilkington’s Tile & Pottery Company during what is generally considered to be its golden era. As well as Pilkington’s ceramics, the collection includes delicate illustrations and designs, photographs, rare books and catalogues, diaries, paperwork, stencils for tiles, and artists’ materials.

The collection provides a unique insight in to the company and represents the range of artists who contributed to Pilkington’s success through preliminary ideas and tests as well as finished works.

How to see the Collection