Chetham's Symphony Orchestra (2016)

Chetham's Symphony Orchestra (2016)


Stephen Threlfall Conductor
Coco Inman Violin

ROSSINI Thieving Magpie Overture
SHOSTAKOVICH Violin Concerto No.1
RESPIGHI The Fountains of Rome
RESPIGHI The Pines of Rome

The exceptional talent of Chetham’s Symphony Orchestra is displayed in a virtuoso programme which opens  with Rossini's irresistible operatic overture. One of ‘Chet’s’ most promising young soloists, Coco Inman, performs Shostakovich’s 1st Violin Concerto. The crestfallen composer had fallen out of favour with Stalin and was intensely paranoid by now.

Upon completion, he locked the concerto away and was unable to write a note for two years. The grand finale of the evening is Respighi’s extraordinary portrait of Italy – a vibrant and instantly lovable masterpiece.

This concert is part of the Festivial of Questions:
Shostakovich's complex relationship with the Soviet Union and his denunciations raises the question: How Should Artists Engage With Politics? 

6.45pm Foyer Music