Davis & Bulychev-Okser: On Memory & Lost Time

Davis & Bulychev-Okser: On Memory & Lost Time


Join violinist Miriam Davis & pianist Michael Bulychev-Okser for a unique evening based on the musical inspirations of Marcel Proust.

Franck – Sonata
Ysaye – Poeme Elegiaque
Debussy – Sonata
Liszt – Hungarian Rhapsody No 6 (solo piano)
Chausson – Poeme

Miriam Davis (Violin)
Michael Bulychev-Okser (Piano)

Lancaster Arts is very excited to bring you a very special pairing of musicians who will bring together a collection of violin and piano works by the composers admired by the renowned French novelist Marcel Proust (1871-1922) and sometimes even mentioned in his novels.

His great novel, In Search of Lost Time covers in intense and vibrant detail, the span of his entire life, from childhood to death. Persistence and the veracity of memory is a particularly fascinating theme within his work. Music features throughout all his novels, most notably in the creation of the fictional composer Vinteuil, whose sonata theme forms a leitmotif of love. Scholars have suggested Vinteuil may be based on Franck, Faure, or Saint-Saëns, among others. Debussy was a known favourite of the author.

Miriam Davis has performed across the globe and won numerous international competitions (including 1st Prize in the Agimus Padova Competition - 'premio citta di Padova 2021' & Grand Virtuoso International Competition).

Michael Bulychev-Okser's performances have been hailed by the New York Times as "enticing and brilliant". He has performed recitals on some of the world's most prestigious stages, including Carnegie Hall, Merkin Hall (New York), Kennedy Center (Washington, D.C.), La Salle Pleyel (Paris), Wigmore Hall (London).


90mins including interval