Lawrence Power & Simon Crawford-Phillips

Lawrence Power & Simon Crawford-Phillips


An evening with Lawrence Power (Viola) and Simon Crawford-Phillips (Piano).

BEETHOVEN Sonata for Violin and Piano No.3 in E flat, Op.12 no.3
PROKOFIEV Violin Sonata No.2 in D
BEETHOVEN (arr.Bowen): Adagio from “Moonlight” Sonata in C-sharp min, op.27, no.2
SHOSTAKOVICH: Sonata for Viola & Piano, Op.147

In the world of violas, there are a handful of champions who illuminate the instrument which such conviction, it is hard to understand why there is not more attention paid to the “Cinderella” of the orchestra. Lawrence Power is one such performer, having trail-blazed the repertoire at home and internationally, performing alongside the greatest musicians and orchestras in the world.

This programme of pairs features Shostakovich’s final work, which pays an explicit tribute to Beethoven’s Moonlight sonata – possibly reflecting his own mood just weeks before his death.

Lawrence Power:
Simon Crawford-Phillips: