Limonov & Rogalski: Water, Myths and Change

Limonov & Rogalski: Water, Myths and Change


Petr Limonov: Piano
Michal Rogalski: Oboe

Oboist Michal Rogalski and pianist Petr Limonov engage in an artistic dialogue that explores the diverse worlds of Debussy, Schumann, Rachmaninov and Britten in a water-themed recital.

Britten: Pan
Schumann: I Romance (Nicht schnell)
Britten: Phaeton
Schumann: II Romance (Einfach, innig)
Britten: Narcissus
Schumann: III Romance (Nicht schnell)
Britten: Arethusa

Rachmaninov: Etude-Tableau in A minor, Op.39 No.2
Debussy: Images, Book 1, Reflets dans l’eau
Debussy: L’isle Joyeuse

At a time when many of us have been reflecting on our lives and on meaning within them, these composers' meditations on water, the element most essential to life are timely and refreshing. This recital will be perfect for the intimate setting of Lancaster Priory.

Petr Limonov is one of the finest pianists and musicians I have had the honour of playing with and hearing. His profound sensitivity is extremely rare, his musical intelligence is of the highest degree and his pianistic power is formidable. Petr is one of the most enlightened musical souls I have come across.

Nicola Benedetti


Petr Limonov

Russian-British pianist and conductor Petr Limonov is the BBC 2019 "Newcomer of the Year" and winner of the Nikolai Rubinstein Piano Competition. Petr frequently performs across Europe and the UK, having collaborated with among others, Maria João Pires, Nicola Benedetti, Boris Berezovsky and the Van Kujik Quartet. The cadenza for Beethoven's Violin Concerto was written in collaboration with Nicola Benedetti and is currently on display in the British Library. In 2017, his arrangement of the Auld Lang Syne was performed in the Albert Hall at the BBC Proms.

Here is a soundclip for Petr Limonov's exquisite playing of Rachmaninov’s Prelude in G-Sharp Minor.  


Michał Rogalski

Michał Rogalski has regularly appeared as principal oboist with the Minnesota Opera and is a regular deputy of the Minnesota Orchestra. Michał has studied at the Chopin Academy of Music in Warsaw and the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis. He is a former oboist of the Winston-Salem Symphony Orchestra and the Piedmont Opera. Recently Michał has performed in a series of chamber music recitals and as a soloist with the GoodEnsemble, Tallis Chamber Orchestra, and the Red Note Ensemble.

Have a listen here to Michal Rogalski playing Mozart’s Oboe Concerto.