Navarra & Sacconi String Quartets

Navarra & Sacconi String Quartets


Xander Van Vliet - violin
Marije Ploemacher - violin
Simone van der Giessen - viola
Nathaniel Boyd - cello
Ben Hancox - violin
Hannah Dawson - violin
Robin Ashwell - viola
Cara Berridge - cello

R. Strauss - Capriccio Sextet
Brahms - String Sextet in B flat, Op.18
Mendelssohn - Octet in E flat, Op.20

Two engaging and award-winning quartets join forces in a most appealing programme. The Sextet from Richard Straussís last opera, Capriccio, functions as a prelude; its gentle serenity presaging the operaís character with a luxurious warmth and soaring radiance. With its transparent textures, Brahmsís First String Sextet is graceful and classically poised. Mendelssohn composed his stunning Octet when he was just 16. In terms of passion, colour, lyricism and 'elfin' qualities, it anticipates the overture to A Midsummer Night's Dream he went on to write the following year. The electric musicality of these young players and their reputation for not merely performing but for possessing the music they play promises a concert to thrill and delight.

Meet the artist: 6.45pm
Tickets: £15.50, £13 (£13, £10.50 concessions) £7 Young person