Brodsky Quartet

Lancaster Arts is honoured and delighted to be able to bring back the renowned Brodsky Quartet, last heard in the Great Hall in 2017. 

Bach: Sonata for Solo Violin in C major (arr. Paul Cassidy)
Britten: String Quartet no. 3
Schubert: String Quartet in D minor

This programme runs from the brand new – never before heard – to perhaps the most famous quartet in the repertoire. The central theme is death. Bach is said to have written his Six Solos for Violin after the unexpected death of his wife. Paul Cassidy’s arrangements of the 3 Sonatas were borne out of lockdown and are, to his knowledge, unique.  

Britten wrote his extraordinary Third Quartet on his deathbed. Indeed, the composer Colin Matthews had to actually write down parts of the last movement (in which he quotes extensively from ‘Death in Venice’) for him, such was his failing health. 

Schubert’s masterpiece takes its name from the slow movement. A set of variations on the theme of one of his most dramatic songs ‘Death and the Maiden’ in which Death offers a friendly hand to a terror-stricken young girl.  

What a fantastic way to mark the return of concerts to the Great Hall!

“The Brodsky Quartet are the team for the new century.”


Lancaster Arts is Covid Secure

Find out about the key precautions we’ve taken to present this season.

  • Duration:
  • 120mins
  • A limited number of seats are available:
  • Covid-safe seating reduces our seating capacity. No tickets will be available on the door. Please book early as we anticipate this event selling out!

    Due to covid precautions, seats will be allocated in your selected section on a first-come-first-serve basis.
  • Location
  • The Great Hall
Wednesday 30 June
  • Dates
  • 30 Jun 2021
  • Web Advance Price
  • £11.00 to £22.00
  • Location