The Musical Sigh: From Brahms to Pärt

This performance will now be streamed as live on Tuesday 15 December 2020. 

Samuel and Jonathan are two exceptional chamber musicians who team up for a special recital of Arvo Pärt, Jean Sibelius and Johannes Brahms, a combination of composers not often performed live together. Catch these rising superstars while you can.

Brahms – Violin Sonata no. 2 op. 100
Sibelius – 5 Pieces
Pärt – Fratres

Samuel Staples (Violin)
Jonathan Ferrucci (Piano)

Jonathan Ferrucci was recently called ‘a wunderkind pianist with noble soul’. In 2016 he won the Jaques Samuel Intercollegiate Competition at Wigmore Hall and made his recital debut in that season, followed by recitals in Barbican Hall and Carnegie Hall.

Samuel Staples has performed across the UK and Europe. An alumnus of the Guildhall and Menuin Schools, Sam has also appeared at the Sejong International Festival, the Langvad Chamber Music Jamboree, and the Grieg in Bergen Festival.

Lancaster Arts is Covid Secure

Find out about the key precautions we’ve taken to present a live programme of events this season.

Rescheduled Date

  • This concert will now be streamed as live on Tuesday 15 December 2020


  • 15 Dec 2020


  • Lancaster Priory Church
  • Lancaster Priory
    Priory Close,
    Lancaster, LA1 1YZ
  • Share this page: